the most beautiful word in the world

 

In 2007 a competition, organised by the German Institute for foreign cultural relations, was held to determine what the most beautiful word in the world was. 60 nations submitted more than 2,500 contributions and the winner was declared the Turkish word “yakamoz” which means “the reflection of  moonlight on water”. This particular word was chosen because a whole concept could be expressed in a single word,  a concept that requires 6 words in English, 9 in French and 10 in German for example. The editor of the German  Spiegel Online said they had wanted to find out which words were especially loved and to develop a feeling for other languages.

 

In second place was the Chinese word “hu lu” meaning to snore

In third place was “volongoto” meaning disorderly or chaotic, from the African Baganda people

In fourth place was the Norwegian “Oppholdsvaer” meaning “right after the rain has stopped”

In fifth place was “madala” from the African Hausa people meaning “thank God”

In sixth place was the Portuguese “saudade” meaning “longing” and

In seventh place was “Perekotipole”, the Ukrainian word for “tumbleweeds”

This entry was posted in Turkish language and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to the most beautiful word in the world

  1. Pelican1 says:

    I love this! Now the challenge to all of you reading this — Can you write a paragraph using ALL of these words? Here’s my attempt:

    “I saudade for oppholdsvaer and yakamoz. I madala because the beauty of each sweep out the volongoto of tumbleweeds that plague my dreams as I hulu. ” 🙂

  2. porchsitter says:

    How delightful! I read about a similar contest years ago run by linguists, whose purpose was to determine the sweetest sounding word or phrase. One of the winners was “cellar door”. With my very limited knowledge, I vote for “pamplemousse,” “miercoledi,” and my current English favorite “relinquish”.

    BTW–in a recent comment on my blog you asked if I’d gotten an email from you in May? I answered you there but you probably didn’t return to read it. I don’t think so, but it might have been accidentally deleted. I have been somewhat ruthless lately in keeping my mail count down, lol. What did I miss?

  3. I need to blow my children out of their ponds by using words like this in Words with Friends. Language really is a joy to work with and these words do have are lusciously lyrical.

  4. gwenguin1 says:

    I vite for “Perekitopole” seeing as I live in the land of Tum,bleweeds!!! I love stuff like this sweetie. Thank you so much for sharing.

    Hugs,
    GwenGuin

  5. imogen88 says:

    Nice stuff, Carol. Lori, your sentence was pretty cool!

  6. imogen88 says:

    And I actually love the word Anatolian, and was just wondering what the literal translation is Carol?? It’s got a lovely mountain range image to the sound of it!!! LOL.

  7. Suzanne says:

    Turkish is such an expressive language. How lovely to have a word meaning the reflection of moonlight on water. So evocative

Leave a comment