in search of flamingoes

last week I went in search of flamingoes. From November through to January they can be seen on the estuary near Bodrum airport. We had seen them some six weeks ago and they must have only recently arrived for they were a dirty brown and grey colour. When I found them last week they had turned a beautiful pale pink and when they raised their wings it was easy to see the red and black undersides.
I started at the edge of the main road and then drove down towards Bargylia where, tantalisingly, they were way over on the far side of the estuary where it was impossible to get anywhere close to them. Needless to say, as I inched closer to them, they moved ever further away from me. Here are some of the photos I took.

20111228_1628_flamingoes

20111228_1630_flamingoes

20111228_1636_flamingoes

20111228_1639 copy_lone-heron
a lone heron is reflected in the water

20111228_1649_flamingoes
view down the inlet towards Bargylia

20111228_1659_Bargylia
Bargylia

20111228_1661_shepherd
a shepherd tending his flock, whose bells made a wonderful bongling sound (I’ve only just discovered this word and it seems to me to be a perfect description of the sound these bells make)

20111228_1667_flamingoes

20111228_1673_flamingoes
this flock of flamingoes was on the move towards the flock that was feeding in the inlet near the sheep

This entry was posted in out and about, photography, Turkey and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to in search of flamingoes

  1. I learned something new today: I did not know that there were flamingoes in Turkey. Great shots.

  2. stephanie says:

    As equally as your photos and descriptions of your life travelling and exploring fill my heart to bursting they break it into jagged bits because I want to do it myself and cannot. I don`t know if you can know how sincerely I thank you for sharing with me the non-touristy vision of the world I long to explore. Steph

  3. restlessjo says:

    I chase them around the Algarve without too much success too. Love the shot of Bargylia.

Leave a comment